Post Poetics Wishlist

Post Poetics is the latest art/design bookstore I’m obsessed with. Too bad it’s all the way in Seoul (or I’m all the way in Kurdistan).

But for any of you lovelies who are in Seoul, or live near such an artsy bookstore, here are my suggestions for the latest design magazines or books to pick up. Oh, but who am I kidding. I really just want these for myself. And it’s probably much cheaper to buy on Amazon. But what’s the fun in that?

  • Apartamento is an uber-cool interior design magazine out of Barcelona. I love their spreads, and their interviews and articles are always presented in really interesting ways. I just wish it wasn’t so expensive! :/
  • 032c, or the ‘Manual for Freedom, Research, and Creativity’ presents such beautiful photographs, and talks art, fashion, and politics (automatic fave!!). Biannual culture magazine, written in English and published in Berlin.
  • A Visual Inventory is minimalist architecture + photography by John Pawson, an architectural designer. Plus, Phaidon is one of my favorite publishers.
  • Here and There is a Japanese (but English language) magazine on fashion, design, lifestyle. This particular issue is about Tokyo (perhaps the here?) and Paris (there). 
  • Lists: To-dos, Illustrated Inventories, Collected Thoughts, and Other Artists’ Enumerations from the Collections of the Smithsonian Museum by Liza Kirwin – a collection of unremarkable lists written down by remarkable people. I love lists, of all types. The type-A organization-loving freak in me says I need this book. Now.

The lives of twentysomethings continued: spending exorbitant amounts on cool, artsy design magazines and complaining about being broke.

( 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 or here)

Leave a Reply

