The Complete Seasons of the Wire, It’s Always Sunny, and Spongebob: Getting My TV Fix

I’ve only now discovered the wonders of the DVD stores in Ranya. Copyright laws don’t really seem to matter, so if you need to buy expensive software just let me know.

Anyway, I was browsing the shelves on my way to the kebab shop to stuff my face with the most delicious falafel in the world, when I came across these gems. The complete seasons of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Spongebob Squarepants, and the Wire. SO STOKED.

 

Bye-bye productivity and a social life. Hello, jammie time!

I think Spongebob is HILARIOUS – my junior year of high school, I spent most of my chemistry class quoting the Spongebob movie with two friends. That’s probably why I almost failed Gen. Chem my first semester of college. Heh. And I’ve listened to so much harping from different friends this past year who’ve said I MUST watch the Wire, but I never got around to it because I knew if I started I’d go AWOL (in my bed watching TV) for the next week or so. Well, if you don’t hear from me for the next few weeks or so, now you know why.

I sound and feel like I’m going through TV withdrawal, which makes my haughty statement of “I don’t watch TV” upon arrival in Kurdistan laughable. I didn’t think I watched much TV in London because I never watched anything on a TV – why would you when you have 1channel? But when I had to fight the urge to throw my computer because of uncooperative Internet speeds while trying to catch up on my favorite shows during the first few weeks here, I realized how much I do watch TV. The latest episodes of the Rachel Maddow Show and the Daily Show in the mornings while I’m getting ready/eating breakfast, New Girl, Community, Parks & Rec, the Mentalist, and the occasional episodes of Mad Men, Criminal Minds, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Arrested Development, and when there’s really nothing to watch, Friends reruns. Of course we can’t forget my embarrassing attachment to Korean dramas – the latest ones I’ve been watching are A Gentleman’s Dignity, To the Beautiful You, Dr. Jin, Faith, and Ghost. Alright, this list has gotten out of control.

We do have wifi in the house, and it’s fast enough for your normal Internet browsing and voice calls on Skype, but not quite fast enough to stream. I had finally discovered how much time I have now that I don’t watch TV anymore, though I can’t say with certainty that I’ve been any more productive. Now we’ll never know.

So anyone considering a move to Kurdistan and worried about missing out on your favorite TV shows (because we all know that’s the main concern), you won’t be able to keep up with the latest episodes, but you can always start watching a show you’ve been meaning to hand over hours of your life to.

 

Leave a Reply

