Ruste in the Snow

It’s already April! I’ve been in Kurdistan for 7 months already. Kind of hard to believe, but the increasing temperatures and our slow move out of what was a bitter cold winter makes me feel like I’m back in the Kurdistan that I first arrived in. But for now, one last reminisce of Kurdistan in the winter.

A few weeks ago I went back to Ruste, the most beautiful place in all of Kurdistan. Last time I went, in November, we caught the last vestiges of fall, which made for quite the picturesque scene: fading fall foliage amidst snow-capped mountains. This time around, at the beginning of March, we arrived to a rather bleak scene of dead trees and winter grey. But when I woke up in the morning, everything was blanketed in clean white snow, which kept falling for the rest of the day.

What’s the first thing to do when it’s snowing??

SNOWBALL FIGHT!!!

Which of course continued throughout the day.

That weekend up in the mountains of Ruste was probably one of the best weekends I’ve ever had: a trip to a beautiful place with all the right people, staying with some of the most hospitable and generous people I know, eating delicious food, taking walks in a setting that could have come straight out of a film, and just taking it easy. I hear Ruste is just as beautiful in the summer (when is it ever not beautiful?), so I’m definitely looking forward to spending another weekend up in the mountains in a few weeks.

DSCF2374

DSCF2388 DSCF2389

DSCF2379 DSCF2392

 

DSCF2503

DSCF2516

One response to “Ruste in the Snow

Leave a Reply

